Skip to main content

Anthony Nolan Supporter Awards shortlist announced

ANSAs 2019
For the latest data and information, visit our Facts & Stats page

Anthony Nolan is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2020 Anthony Nolan Supporter Awards (ANSAs)! 

Finalists in 16 categories will be recognised in Anthony Nolan’s annual celebration. For 2020’s awards, our celebration will involve celebrities and specially invited supporters announcing the winners in specially pre-recorded films, which can be viewed right here on Thursday 11 February 2021, from 7pm. 

Henny Braund, Chief Executive of Anthony Nolan, says: ‘Congratulations to everyone who has being shortlisted in the 2020 Anthony Nolan Supporter Awards.  

‘Every day, at least five people begin their search for a matching unrelated stem cell donor to treat their blood cancer or blood disorder. We’re incredibly lucky to have so many fantastic people supporting Anthony Nolan’s vital work to find a match for everyone in need of a lifesaving transplant. This year it is perhaps more important than ever to celebrate our nominees who have put a great deal of time and energy into supporting Anthony Nolan.  

‘We want to say a massive thank you, and congratulations, to all our nominees. Whether or not you win, nominees like you really are all winners to us.’ 

The Shortlist  

Minority Ethnic Advocate of the Year  

  • Cardiff Marrow  
  • Help Veer Now Campaign  

High Profile Supporter of the Year  

  • Olivia Colman  
  • Chris Newton  

Clinical Supporter of the Year  

  • Dr Kim Orchard  
  • Dr Thushan de Silva  

Donor Champion of the Year  

  • George Quigley  
  • Doug Mbang  
  • Melissa Copson  

Everyday Hero  

  • Jean Harris  
  • Jo Kelly  
  • Clare Williams  

Group Fundraiser of the Year  

  • Hope Runners  
  • Arlo's Army  
  • ExtraTime4Andy  

Individual Fundraiser of the Year  

  • Jamie Wolff  
  • Sam Duggan  
  • Mark Heasman 

John Petchey Young Hero of the Year  

  • Veer Gudhka  
  • Felix Brown  
  • Caden Moore  

Journalist of the Year  

  • Warren Manger  
  • Hector MacKenzie  

Organisational Fundraiser of the Year  

  • Turcan Connell  
  • Budapest Runway Run  
  • Shree Kadwa Patidar Samaj 

Patient Champion of the Year  

  • Anie Hu  
  • Julia Lindquist  
  • Dave Jones  

Political Supporter of the Year  

  • Mark Tami MP  
  • Bob Blackman MP  
  • Bill Kidd MSP  

Register Champion of the Year  

  • Glasgow Marrow  
  • Scottish Fire & Rescue Service  
  • Adrian Sudbury Schools’ Education Trust (ASSET)  

Scientific Supporter of the Year  

  • Antony Gince and Shari Denovan  
  • Dr Philip Bergin  
  • Dr Jeff Miller  

Shirley Nolan Special Recognition Award  

  • Kate Walford  
  • London Marathon 2018 team  
  • Stephen Berger  

Simon Dyson Award for Volunteer of the Year  

  • Sam Williams  
  • Nabeel Salim  
  • Volunteer Courier Team  




Celebrity Donor stories Patient stories Press release Supporter stories